Wilmington Alumnae Focuses On Crowning Black Excellence

Submitted by Chapter by Dawnée Watson-Bouie

If you have ever attended a signature Jabberwock program sponsored by the Wilmington (DE) Alumnae Chapter (“WAC”) of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated (“DST”), then you know it is an EPIC EVENT! WAC did not disappoint on Nov. 12, 2022, when sponsoring Jabberwock 2022 under the theme “Crowning Black Excellence…Continuing a Legacy of Greatness.”

Twenty-two ambitious and talented young ladies were showcased for their educational aspirations, interests, and ambitious career goals. The president of WAC, Glenda C. Brewington, stated “Act II opened, and the 22 young ladies were introduced in their simply elegant beautiful red gowns with just the right amount of white accent! Their performances had already been electrifying in Act I, but when their strong academic accomplishments were revealed as they walked down the aisle to the stage, the audience became even more awestruck.” The audience, which consisted of family, friends, dignitaries, and sponsors, anxiously awaited the announcement of scholarship awards and the crowning of “Miss Jabberwock 2022.”

The 22 Jabberwock scholarship recipients represented 18 high schools within the New Castle County, Delaware service area. Participants shared $187,000 in cash awards and three, full-tuition scholarships granted by Delaware State University and Wilmington University for a grand total of $333,000 in scholarships presented!

The Jabberwock 2022 co-chairs were Diane Harris, Karen Jenkins, and Lorraine Williams. They were ably assisted by Personal Development co- chairs Tracy Pinkett and Danya Woods. The diligent work of the co-chairs, along with WAC members who volunteered and supported the event, made the program a remarkable success.

During a special presentation, the 22 participants shared notable contributions of various African-American women of excellence. They ended with a tribute recognizing a myriad of contributions by educator, playwright, community activist and WAC member Beatrice ‘Bebe’ Coker.

New Castle County Executive Matthew Meyer congratulated WAC members  for investing in young people and showcasing the talented Jabberwock participants. Special Awards were presented by the chapter first vice-president Nashela George and Affinity Awards were presented by chapter member, Karen H. Bostick. These awards were given to students who plan to study in the areas of STEM and health care, for showing acts of kindness, by the Reading is Fundamental program, and to potential HBCU attendees.

This culminating evening captured only a small essence of an impressive experience that expanded several months for the 22 participants. “Miss Jabberwock 2022,” Gionna Flemming, whose aspiration is to become an art director, plans to major in visual communications at the University of Delaware.

WAC members shared encouraging words for each recipient, memorializing the remarkable Jabberwock tradition of DST. Reflections included “Stay the Course” by Dr. Crystal Edwards, Mistress of Ceremony; “Enjoy Your Endeavors in Life! Choose Wisely,” by Doris Wilkins; “Keep Shining. Keep Wearing that Black Girl Magic Crown!” by Diane Harris.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *